Tamale Metropolitan Assembly ends with casualties as strong incumbents lost their seats

Source;  Tudu Lahabali Kpana || Justice Fm

Click to listen to Radio Justice

The District Level Elections in the Tamale Metropolitan Assembly has ended with unprecedented casualties as strong incumbents lost their seats.

11 of the 41 members of the Tamale Metropolitan Assembly lost their seats to strong opponents. This means, about 27percent of the total number of old Assembly members at Tamale Assembly will not be going back to the house.

Incumbent Assembly Man for Banvim Electoral Area, Alhaji Mutala Kwame and Assemblyman for Victory Cinema Electoral Area, Hon Abuba and Assembly Man for Vitting, Chief Yakubu Rufai shockingly lost their bid to retain their seats.

Other losers included the Assembly members for Nyohini South, Kukuo, Kobilmahagu, and Nalungfong Electoral areas. The rest are the Assembly members for Kootingli, Lahagu, Sabonjida, and Dungu Electoral area. It is not clear why the heavy casualties have been recorded but most analysts say the assembly members may have not worked hard enough.

 No woman won in the Tamale Metropolis. In the Sagnarigu Municipality, one of the three women who contested the elections in the various electoral areas won. Madam Yakubu Bibiana Wumpini polled one thousand and twenty (1020) votes to beat her closest contender, Awudu William who managed only 388 votes in the Malshegu Electoral Area.

Read Previous

President Nana Addo revokes the appointment of the CEO of the Northern Development Authority

Read Next

Leaders of Gbane group demand a piece of land leased in 2013 to Shaanxi Mining Ghana Ltd.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *